Skip to main content

Senate confirms FCC Commissioners Geoffry Starks and Brendan Carr to a second 5-year term

The Senate confirmed FCC Commissioners Geoffrey Starks and Brendan Carr to a second five-year term, ensuring a 3-2 Democratic-controlled commission that will oversee efforts to restore Title II common carrier authority over broadband and the drafting of new digital discrimination rules. In September, the Senate also confirmed Anna Gomez to the FCC after over two years of obstruction by industry lobbyists and their Republican allies to prevent President Biden’s efforts to fill the vacant FCC seat.

CWA congratulated Geoffry Starks on his confirmation. “Commissioner Starks has been a leader in the fight against the digital divide. His perspective and passion on this issue will be essential as the FCC works to ensure that the federal government’s generational investments in broadband bring affordable internet service to all Americans, no matter where they live,” said CWA. “By acting quickly to reconfirm Commissioner Starks, Senate leadership has ensured that the FCC will operate at full strength during this critical time for the telecommunications and media industries.”


CWA Congratulates FCC Commissioner Geoffry Starks on His Confirmation (CWA, Oct. 2, 2023)

CWA applauds the confirmation of Anna Gomez to the FCC (CWA, Sep. 7, 2023)